Same-sex Marriage.

Posted on

Same-sex marriage has been a hot debate recently and for the populi, one of the most sensitive topic to be ever tackled. It’s something of extreme measures to not hurt any feelings when coming across this sensitive topic. Religion, morality, common sense, has been on the floor when debates have risen up. 

 

Whenever I tell people I’m okay with same-sex marriage, (note that I am straight), people have this face of disbelief, or ignorance. The face that says, “You are on the wrong side,” which pisses me off eventually. No one would like to be asked for an opinion, and because of a bias outlook, a one sided opinion that’s based on popular answers does’t mean that it’s right, correct, or culturally fair. I’d look them straight in the eye, knowing that they don’t like my opinion, and I’d tail a question like, “Why the face?” or a simple, “Why?” would ignite their flame of religious feelings and/or their knowledge of morality. This time, I’d give them the face that they have given me. Ofcourse, unlike myself, they’d take it more seriously. They’d tell me I’m wrong, I don’t condone with the bible, or one of my favourite comeback, I am homosexual.

 

If morality was an issue with same-sex marriage, I don’t see any immorality to be honest. No one’s killing, it’s just a matrimony of two people with the same biological features whose deep endearment with each other surpasses on what’s normal. That’s the only thing not normal there. Their love for each other. 

 

If religion is at stake. I don’t want to comment on it. I might be hurting religious readers. One thing’s for sure, I’m quoting a song of Macklemore in “Heist” which is called, Same Love, and it goes a little like,

 

“Playing God, aw nah here we go
America the brave still fears what we don’t know
And God loves all his children, is somehow forgotten
But we paraphrase a book written thirty-five-hundred years ago”\

 

quoting the overused line, “We are afraid of something we don’t fully understand” We are brothers and sisters. Whatever religion, country, race, clime, gender. Why must we stop this beautiful thing. The joining of two lives. Every god in different religion has said one thing, and one thing alone, “Love everybody” so why not start with supporting our fellow brothers and sisters? They are humans. Take out everything and you’re skeletons. This is the proof that we are not so different. We are one, we have different dreams but we all want something. Equality. The unwritten law that no one should frown below us because we are not that far apart. That’s what we want. That’s what we all want. 

 

 

I support Same- sex marriage.

 

Imager

Leave a Reply

